2019-2020 Board of Directors












Board Chair
Jaime Martinez
Director of Human Resources
Brownsville Navigation District

Vice Chair
Teri Capistran
Superintendent of Schools
Point Isabel Independent School District

Art Garza
Valley Regional Medical Center

Immediate Past Chair
Ronnie Rodriguez
Director of Career & Technology Education
Los Fresnos Consolidated Independent School District

Campaign Chair
Maribel Bermudez Guerrero

Board Members

Frank Acevedo
Chief Nursing Officer, Valley Regional Medical Center

Dahlia Aguilar
Principal, Lopez Early College High School

Patti Ayala
Senior Vice President, Frost Bank

Dr. Norma Ibarra-Cantu
Curriculum & Instruction Coordinator for Secondary, Brownsville Independent School District

John Edge
General Manager, Fruia Motors

Frank Escobedo
Publisher, The Brownsville Herald

Eric Garza

Janie Hernandez
Branch Manager, Wells Fargo Bank

Frank Lopez
Vice President, IBC Bank

Bea Lopez-Juarez
Unit Director - H-E-B

Judith Lucio
Attorney, Hamilton & Lucio

Carla Mancha
Chief Executive Officer, Housing Authority of the City of Brownsville

Armando Sanchez
General Manager at H-E-B Plus

Seema Trakru, M.D.

Rick Villarreal, DDS
Villarreal Dental Center

Dr. Selma Yznaga
Associate Professor, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Norma Zamora
Director, Brownsville Metro

All directors listed above are independent voting members of the Board of Directors.